Posted in Life, Story Time

Joy and Peace // Story Time

This is a story of how I started seeing the world in a different light. Even though I grew up in a Christian home, we never did much more than go to church on Sundays. So, throughout these past few years I’ve been kind of going back and forth with my faith and what it really means to be Christian.

Last Thursday night as I was leaving my workplace, I decided to take the long route back to my dorm, even though it was dark and raining. On my walk home, I started feeling really down about everything. I think being a senior has brought on this sort of “quarter life crisis.” So many bad events have happened this semester and I’m still trying to recover from them all. I’ve also been doubting my ability to go to Korea after graduation which has been weighing me down a lot, because its something I’ve been looking forward to for a long while now.

As I was walking and thinking about all of these things, I pass by these two people who were walking in the opposite direction from me. As I passed by them, I felt both of them turn to look at me but I thought it was just a case of mistaken identity. So I continued to walk. I got about twenty more feet when someone tapped me on the shoulder and I saw that it was the two people I had seen before.

They had stopped to tell me that as they were walking, and talking about whatever it was they were talking about, they felt drawn to my presence and felt that God really wanted them to speak to me. The guy said that he kept hearing the words “weighty decisions”. They both said that God wanted me to know that I haven’t been forgotten and that everything will work out in the end. They also said that when they look at me they hear the words “joy and peace”. They said a prayer for me, we hugged and I went along my merry way.

Not even three minutes later, I was walking about fifteen feet behind three guys who were walking in the same direction as me. All of the sudden, they pause whatever conversation they are having and all three of them turn to me. They say that they really want to pray for me. Weirdly enough, they used the same word “joy” that the other people had used when talking about me. They also felt as if God has this huge plan for me. The funniest part was that they really wanted to hug me, which tends to happen with people I know, but they said it was because of my spirit that drew them to me.

Normally, I kind of brush aside encounters like this, not because I don’t believe in God, but because I feel like sometimes missionaries tell you generic things that could apply to anyone. But somehow this feels different.

The way that both groups of people weren’t actively seeking out people to pray for but instead seemed to have heard something that told them to talk to me makes this different. Neither group had even noticed my existence until all of the sudden just turning to me. Also, I don’t think its a coincidence that this happened on a night when I seemed to need it the most.

God works in mysterious ways y’all.

Until next time,

Bianca

Hit me up on social media!

Twitter:@BiancaSaysJump_

Instagram:@bcousin13

Leave a Reply

