Posted in Life

Keeping Your Mental Health In Check

In honor of World Mental Health Day, I thought I would make a list of things one can do to keep your stress levels low and really make sure that you take care of yourself.

Disclaimer: Everyone is different so obviously not all of these things will work for you. But these are some of the things that help me and I hope will help somebody else.

Make yourself your first priority

Sometimes its easy to tell yourself that school, friends, or even your part time job come first. However that isn’t always true. As cliche as it sounds, we only have one life and sometimes its really hard to juggle everything. That being said, if you’re sick or really feel like you can’t do something, listen to what your mind is telling you. You might just have too much on your plate.

Eat healthy/exercise regularly

I tend to find it easier to get through my tougher days if my body feels in great condition. Eating healthy doesn’t necessarily mean going on a diet. It could also be cutting out those unnecessary foods, like candy or soda, that really do nothing for you. Also, exercising could be as simple as walking to class, instead of catching the bus. Simple steps like these can go a long way.

Take time out of every day to do things that you enjoy

This is huge. Sometimes my friends judge me for spending time watching Youtube videos or blogging when I have an assignment or studying to do. But I find it much easier to focus on the difficult things if I’m coming out of a good place.

Seek help

Sometimes the stress can be too much and no amount of self care can combat it. Seeking help is something that I strongly encourage. It doesn’t have to be going to see a professional. Even just venting to a friend or two can help relieve some stress and sometimes hearing what they have to say can calm your mind.

Mental illness is an issue that continues to be ignored by many people all over the world. Part of that comes from the idea that someone with a mental illness is “crazy” or “just faking it.” This isn’t true. If you feel like something is wrong, please don’t hesitate to reach out to someone for help.

Until next time,

Bianca

Hit me up on social media!

Twitter: @BiancaSaysJump_

Instagram: @bcousin13

Leave a Reply

