Posted in Korean Notebook

Coming Soon: Korean Notebook

Lately, I’ve been trying everything to learn more Korean on my own. I can only learn so much from reading textbooks and I’m at this stage where I’ve reached a plateau so I’m picking up things at this really slow rate. I’m not satisfied with that AT ALL.

Being the college student student that I am, I turned to the most reliable resource: Google. I found this really great site called Fluent In 3 Months which has tips on how to learn languages in a way that unconventional but definitely helpful. It’s a site I would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone trying to learn a new language and trying to find new ways to do so. Based on some of the posts I read, I came up with a few things that will hopefully help me out a lot.

First, I changed my phone’s language setting to Korean. It’s something I’ve been meaning to do for awhile but was too scared of not being able to navigate it. It’s been about two days and its actually becoming pretty comfortable. Also, one of the great perks is that my friends will never ask to use my phone. I may never change it back.

Next, I downloaded the Naver app. For those of you who don’t know, Naver is one of the biggest websites in Korea. It has all kinds of content ranging from news articles to webtoons. It’s a great way to pick up on words that are used most frequently in Korean and in the case of the webtoons, I can also pick up on more casual speech and slang.

Lastly, I’ve decided to create a new addition to this blog. The best way to reinforce new information is to practice it SO I’m creating a section of my blog specifically for a Korean journal or notebook. Every so often I’ll write blog posts in Korean to try and challenge myself as well as branch out and reach out to a larger audience. I’ll probably end up making it a weekly feature.

Be on the look out for new posts! I have a lot of good ideas for posts that are currently in progress.

Until next time,

Bianca

 

Leave a Reply

