Posted in Life

Summer Studying

I’m about two weeks into my summer vacation and already the fun and games are officially over. I’ve been forced to dedicate my summer to studying for standardized tests which at first didn’t seem like a huge task but now I realize how wrong I was.

THE GRE

I thought that this would simply be the grown up version of the SAT but its proven to be much more complicated than that.

Somehow I’m expected to remember how to solve for the degree of the missing angle even though its been about eight years since I’ve taken any type of geometry. Grammar rules that I could have easily regurgitated in the seventh grade are now a distant memory. Countless vocab words (that I will probably never use again in my life) haunt my dreams as I spend any free time going through flashcards on Quizlet.

Although prep books like the Princeton Review (I absolutely love them) are helpful, they only really scratch the surface of what you need to know. Hopefully by the end of the summer, I’ll be well versed in the GRE and when I take it in the fall my hard work will have paid off.

TOPIK

For those of you who don’t know, the TOPIK exam is what is used to show that you are proficient in the Korean language.

Learning languages has always been my forte but studying for this exam has turned out  to be somewhat challenging. Different language courses teach grammar and vocab in different orders, which is fine until you try and take a test like this. Going through the practice questions for my level, I’ve realized that there are certain grammatical structures that I’m expected to know that I haven’t learned and vocab that I’ve never encountered in my life. Its challenging trying to decipher what I should know for the level I aim to be at but thankfully studying for Korean isn’t exactly a chore for me. I wholeheartedly enjoy learning new concepts and putting them to use when I watch dramas or listen to music.

GRE PSYCH SUBJECT TEST

Truthfully I’m not too worried about this one. I absolutely love psychology so brushing up on old topics won’t be too tough. However, I’m still deciding whether or not to even take it.

My bachelors degree will be in English but I’m planning on doing a masters or Psy.D in psychology. My thought process is that I need to take this exam in order to prove to grad programs that I know the basics of psychology. BUT a lot of programs don’t even accept the exam so I have no idea whether I should waste my time and money. I have so many questions but so little time.

Until next time,

Bianca

Hit me up on social media!

Twitter: @BiancaSaysJump_

Instagram: bcousin13

2 thoughts on “Summer Studying

  1. Hey Bianca!

    I’m loving your blog (followed!) but I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

