Posted in Life

What Should I Expect As A Black Girl In Korea?

In simply a year and a half, I will be leaving Cornell and moving on to bigger and better things. Hopefully, this will include finding myself on the other side of the world in South Korea.

I tend to ramble on a lot about my desire to go to Korea but lately its becoming a lot more real. I don’t have much time to figure out potential programs and apply. Although its slowly becoming more scary, I also can’t help but to feel incredibly excited as well. As weird as it may seem, I continue to feel as if I have created a strong connection with this country I have never even set foot in. Heck, I’ve never even been off of the East Coast.

Now, that I’m twenty, the years seem to be going by faster than I’d like them to and that frightens me so much, because there is a lot I’d like to do before I reach my late twenties and start thinking about possibly settling down.

Since this summer, to prepare myself for the inevitable culture shock, I’ve been watching black YouTube personalities describe their good experiences, weird happenings, and awkward encounters while teaching in Korea. Even though, this really only gives me a glimpse into black life in Korea, its good to at least have some idea of what to expect.

charlycheer was the first youtuber I came across in my quest for knowledge. She makes vlogs about her daily life in Korea and what makes her unique is that her videos tend to focus on more than one aspect of daily life. This contrasts from a lot of other people who tend to vlog mostly about events that are strange or out of the ordinary. She is also vegan so she discusses some of the challenges of eating vegan in Korea and how she puts together her meals.

I originally found MySoKoAdventure through the above video, when trying to figure out how I would want to style my hair while in Korea. I was drawn to her videos because she reminds me a lot of myself in the way she tells stories using gestures and facial expressions. I think it was through this specific video especially that I realized I shouldn’t really worry about how I wear my hair, because either way its going to be something that a lot of people in Korea have never seen before and there will be stares and questions directed my way.

I love Smiling Seoul so much OMG. She’s always smiling and so animated in her videos that you can’t help but to smile as well. She tends to tell it as it is which I really appreciate. She has also met a lot of Korean hip hop artists which I hope will become my reality too.

These videos only provide a small insight into the world of a Black Woman in South Korea. Obviously, everyone’s experiences are different and my experience could end up being nothing like this, but its still good to know what you’re going up against.

Until next time,

Bianca

Hit me up on social media!

Twitter: @BiancaSaysJump_

Instagram: bcousin13

3 thoughts on “What Should I Expect As A Black Girl In Korea?

Leave a Reply

