Posted in Life

Is a Gap Year Really Possible?

The answer is yes.

This past week I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about possible routes for my gap year. I’m half way through college already and soon I’ll be in the real world doing God knows what with my life.

A major stepping stone into the rest of my life will be whatever I choose to do for my gap year (or years).  I could either go on to grad school after that or decide that whatever i’m doing is super great and just pursue that for the rest of my life. Who knows?

I think I’m pretty much set on the fact that I want to go to South Korea after college. It’s the country  I really want to visit the most and I want to go while I’m young and able.

I’ve been looking into the Fulbright program and I think that may be my top choice right now. It’s pretty competitive from what I’ve heard but those who did it absolutely loved it. I literally just spent the past three hours reading four different blogs of past Fulbright participants.

You can either do this program through research or teaching English and honestly teaching English seems like the best thing for me. I am getting an English degree after all. Might as well put it to good use.

I still have two more years to go in undergrad but it feels like so little time. Hopefully around this time in two years, I’ll be packing my bags to go to Korea. Whether its through Fulbright or another opportunity, I’m crossing my fingers and hoping that I’ll be able to make it happen.

One thing I’ve learned in the past couple of years is that I may be a bit lazy but when I put my mind to something I won’t stop until it happens. This is no different.

I want to write a letter to my future self now. Is that a thing? Eh…even if it isn’t, I’ll do it anyway.

Until next time,

Bianca.

Leave a Reply

