Posted in Life

My College Experience (so far)

Recently, for an interview, I had to present a timeline of my path to Cornell. Now that my sophomore year is quickly approaching its close I thought I could do something similar and talk about my life at Cornell thus far.

When I first arrived at Cornell, I was a shy and naive eighteen year old who thought she knew exactly what she wanted to do with her life. Since I was young, I always thought that I was going to end up being a doctor SO I decided I was going to be a pre-med psych major.

As time went on, I got acquainted with lots of new people and learned things that I never knew I needed to know. Many of my new friends here are from all over the world and every day I learn something new about their cultures while also sharing aspects of my own culture.

Something I didn’t tell most people was that I was struggling with my classes and I didn’t really know how to fix things. I wasn’t failing, but I was getting much lower grades than I was used to and it frustrated me.

When I ended my first year at here, I was a bit discouraged because college turned out to be a really confusing time. I still wanted to create a path towards med school but it was becoming harder to do so. During the summer, I told myself that I couldn’t be the only one having difficulties and that this rough patch would definitely pass.

Fall 2014. The semester went by pretty fast. I met more new people while strengthening connections with my friends that I had made the year prior. In the beginning, everything was going well. My grades were good and I thought that I had finally gotten out of my slump.

I was wrong.

I took a wrong turn somewhere and before I knew it I found myself in front of my advising dean, who thought it would be wise for me to change my major.

I couldn’t believe it. Everything I had worked so hard for was crumbling around me. I wanted to crawl up into a ball and hide away forever. My dean told me that English would be a really good alternative for me since I had done well in some the english classes I had taken freshman year.

So, this semester I took my dean’s advice and took another English class to see if I could envision myself in this major. I realized that I actually love English way more than any of the psych and pre med classes that I had been taking.

So as of right now, I am working on declaring my new major and pursuing a Business minor. I don’t know exactly what I want to do with it yet but I see myself working in the entertainment business somehow.

One of the things that has gotten me through this rough time is my group of friends. Both my friends here at school and those back home in Orlando have been extremely supportive of my decision. My mom has also told me that she is okay with me changing my major as long as I am happy with my decision.

A really positive thing that has come out of me coming to Cornell is the feeling that I no longer have to hide who I am. Back home in Orlando, I always tried to avoid telling people that my family is from Haiti because there has always been a negative stigma surrounding Haitians and our culture. When I came to Cornell and told my friends that I was Haitian-American, they welcomed me with open arms. It was the first time that I had been exposed to such positive feeling towards my culture and my identity and I’m grateful for that.

So far, my Cornell experience has actually been really great. Even though I ended up pursuing something that was the polar opposite from my original plan, I’m grateful that I realized my true love for English before I got too far. I’m excited to see what the next two years will bring.

Until next time,

Bianca

Leave a Reply

